Jump to navigation
RSS

Sep 07, 2011

Florida

September 2011

Below is a list of the key highway safety laws in Florida. For more information, contact the Florida State Safety Office.

Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by StatuteComments
At least two of the following: speeding, unsafe or improper lane change, following too closely, failure to yield right of way, improper passing, failure to obey traffic control devices.Not an enforceable offense; violator is cited for specific traffic infraction(s). Issuing officer can select "Aggressive Driving" checkbox on raffic tickets for data collection purposes.

Sources: National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and State Highway Safety Office.

Handheld BanAll Cell Phone BanText Messaging BanCrash
Data
School Bus DriversNovice DriversAll DriversSchool Bus DriversNovice Drivers
      Yes

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Child Restraint Required
unless indicated, # refers to Yrs.(Lbs.)
Adult Safety Belt Permissible
unless indicated, # refers to Yrs.(Lbs.)
Maximum Fine
1st Offense
<34 - 5$60 + points

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Per Se Laws for Drugs (Forbidding Prohibited Substances in Driver's Body)DEC/DRE Programs
(Providing Law Enforcement Training)
 Yes

Source: State Highway Safety Office.

Inc. Penalty for High BACAdmin. License Susp. on 1st OffenseLimited Driving Privileges During Susp.Ignition InterlocksVehicle and License Plate SanctionsAlcohol Exclusion Laws Limiting Treatment
*Meeting Federal Requirements
.206 months for DUBALAfter 30 daysMandatory for high BAC (>.15) convictionsImpoundment, vehicle forfeitureYesYesYes
12 months for refusalAfter 90 days

Sources: Ensuring Solutions to Alcohol Problems, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and State Highway Safety Office.

Learner StageIntermediate StageFull Privilege
Min. Age
(Years/ Months)
Min. Age
(Years/ Months)
Min.
Duration
(Months)
Required
Supervised
Driving Hours
(Night Hours)
Min. Age
(Years/ Months)
Nighttime Driving RestrictionPassenger
Restriction
(except family, unless noted)
151250 (10)16Age 16
11 p.m. - 6 a.m. Age 17
1 a.m. - 5 a.m.
No restriction18

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

MotorcyclistsBicyclists
Universal Helmet Law (Year Enacted)Partial LawUniversal Helmet Law Repealed
 <21 or those with <$10,000 in medical coverage for motorcycle-related injuries2000<16

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Length of Regular Renewal Cycle (Yrs.)Provisions for Mature Drivers
8>80: renewal every 6 yrs. with vision test (in person or physician's letter if renewing by mail or electronically)

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Type of LawWho is Covered (Yrs.)In What SeatMaximum Fine 1st Offense
Primary>6Front$30
6 - 17All

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway and State Highway Safety Office.

State Law
Permitted

Sources: Segway LLC and State Highway Safety Office.

Checkpoints Conducted?FrequencyLegality
YesBetween 15-20 per monthUpheld under federal Constitution

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Rural InterstatesUrban InterstatesOther Limited Access Roads
Cars
(mph)
Trucks
(mph)
Cars
(mph)
Trucks
(mph)
Cars
(mph)
Trucks
(mph)
707065657070

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Violation / State LawPermitted Locations/CriteriaCitation Issued To / LiabilityImage TakenPenalties (Traditional Penalties)
Speed: No state law or programs
Red light: PermittedStatewideRegistered owner/
Owner
Tag and traffic control device$158; no points
($125; 3 points)

Sources: National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Violations AffectedEnhanced PenaltiesWorkers Must Be PresentSigns Must Be Present
SpeedingDouble original fineYesYes

Sources: National Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse and State Highway Safety Office.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is for general information purposes only and is not to be considered legal authority. For clarification on any law, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.



Refer a Friend And we'll send you a free gift!

Tell your friends about us.
We'll send you a gift card. More »

Bookmark our mobile site visit m.beallins.com

Information you need, when and where you need it most. More »

Beall Insurance Services

Shapiro Insurance Group Jump to navigation

877-858-8833

Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM

Our location

Lakeland office

5380 South Florida Ave
Lakeland, Florida 33813
863-688-5400

Additional navigation:

Home | Contact | About | Companies | Service | Search | Privacy | Disclaimer

© 2017 Beall Insurance Services